LG Chess World Championship kicks off for the first time in four years… Korea, China, Japan, and Taiwan all in attendance

The LG Chess, the world championship hosted by South Korea, will be held for the first time in four years.

The 28th LG Go Chosun Ilbo Kiwangjeon will hold an opening ceremony at Gonjiam Resort in Gwangju, Gyeonggi-do, on the evening of the 28th, followed by the round of 24 on the 29th.

The event is attracting attention because it is the first time that the World Go Tournament, which has been held online since the pandemic of the novel coronavirus (COVID-19) in 2020, is being held in Korea with foreign players participating.

It is the second time the world championship has been held in person, following the inaugural Lanker Cup in Quzhou, China, earlier this month.먹튀검증

South Korea is sending 12 players to the LG Cup, the first time in four years that it will be held in the center of a checkerboard.

Reigning world No. 1 Shin Shin-seo is the national seed, along with Park Jung-hwan, Byun Sang-il, and Ahn Kook-hyun, while Kim Myung-hoon, Ahn Sung-joon, and Han Seung-joo are the other nine players, Kim Jung-hyun and Seol Hyun-joon eight, and Han Tae-hee and Park Sang-jin seven.

A total of 12 players will compete for the title, including wildcarded 9th dan Shin Min-jun.

China will be represented by defending champion Ding Hao 9 and runner-up Yang Dingxin 9, as well as Li Xuanhao-Mi Yueting 9 (top national seed), Cui Zhihao-Li Weiqing 9 (top qualifier), and Wang Xinghao 8.

Japan will be represented by Toramaru Shibano-Shijuan 9th dan (top national seed) and Hsieh Chih-hsiung 8th dan (selection), while Chinese Taipei will be represented by nationally seeded Lai Jun-fu 8th dan.

Of the 24 players, eight – Shin Shin-seo, Park Jung-hwan, Byun Sang-il, Shin Min-joon, Ding Hao, Yang Dingxin, Kersey, and Shibano – advanced directly to the round of 16 based on their respective national rankings.

In the previous 27 editions of the LG Cup, South Korea and China have won 12 titles apiece, while Japanese-origin crews have reached the top twice and Taiwanese crews once.

South Korea won three consecutive titles in the 24th through 26th editions, but lost the championship to China last year.

The prize for winning the LG Boat is 300 million won, while the runner-up prize is 100 million won.

The time limit is three hours and five 40-second readings.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *